The dairy sector is dynamic and competitive, with rapidly evolving scientific research and best practices. Through a number of prestigious awards, IDF looks to recognise excellence and reward achievement within the global dairy sector.
The IDF Award recognizes remarkable contributions to progress in dairying worldwide. It is attributed on the basis of submissions by IDF members, the IDF National Committees.

The IDF Award has the form of a piece of art and a medallion with an inscription. By granting the Award, the IDF wishes to pay tribute to extensive contribution to dairy science, adding to the scientific knowledge about the benefits of dairy foods.

The 2012 IDF Award was presented to George Robert Davey AM, from the Agriculture at the Royal Agricultural Society of New South Wales, Australia. More information about Mr. Davey can be found here.

Since the IDF Award was introduced, the following people have won the award:

  • 2016: Pavel Jelen (CA), Phil Kelly (IE) and Kevin Marshall (NZ)
  • 2015: no recipient
  • 2014: Mohamed El-Hossieny Abd El-Salam (EG)
  • 2013 : Roger Abrahamsen (NO)
  • 2012 : George Davey (AU),
  • 2011: Suk-Jin Cho (KR)
  • 2010 : Manuela Juárez (ES)
  • 2009 : Walther Heeschen (DE)
  • 2008 : Ylva Ardö (SE)
  • 2007 : Peter Parodi (AU)
  • 2006 : Shuichi Kaminogawa (JP)
  • 2005 : Donald Muir (GB)
  • 2004 : Lawrence Kenneth Creamer (NZ) and Pierpaolo Resmini (IT)
  • 2003 : Pieter Walstra (NL)
  • 2002 : Patrick F. Fox (IE)
  • 2001 : Robert R. Sellars (US) and Zdenko Puhan (CH)
  • 2000 : Douglas B. Emmons (CA)
  • 1999 : Ernest J. Mann (GB)
  • 1998 : Jean-Louis Maubois (FR)
The IDF Prize of Excellence is given in recognition of an outstanding recent contribution to the Work Programme of IDF.

The Prize honours an individual or group of individuals, who contribute as volunteers from among the grassroots of IDF, to the IDF Programme of Work in accordance with IDF’s purpose and following the five key concepts constituting SWIFT as a driver for the development of IDF.

These concepts are:

  • Speed
  • Worldwide visibility
  • Impact
  • Focus
  • Transparency

These ensure that the organization continues to deliver timely outcomes that meet expectations and the changing needs of IDF membership.


  • 2016: Sandra Casani (DK)
  • 2015: Jointly Michel Hickey (IE) and Claus Heggum (DK)
  • 2014: PG-AMC-C13 – Milk and milk products– Determination of nitrogen content – Part 1: Kjeldahl principle and crude protein calculation. Dr. Dave Barbano (US), Richard Johnson (NZ), Dr. Silvia Orlandini (IT), George Psathas (CY), Juan Romero (US)
  • 2013: Odd Rønningen (NO)
The annual IMP Trophy competition was initiated in 1989 by the IMP Group.

It is a means of showcasing, to dairy farming and industry delegates attending the annual IDF World Dairy Summit, the best generic advertising campaigns created recently amongst the group in the key areas of innovation, nutri-marketing, and marketing communication.. In honour of one of their founding members, Yves Boutonnat, it is now called the Yves Boutonnat International Milk Promotion Trophy.

Entries are submitted to the IMP Group mid-year meeting where they are subject to peer-review, analysis and judging. The top 3 are selected to present their campaign and the winner is elected by secret ballot. The winner is considered the best in promoting the nutritional benefits and the healthy image and lifestyle of dairy foods.


  • 2016 – Ireland : Promoting dairy for teenage healthy living
  • 2015 : South Africa : Consumer Education Program of Milk SA
  • 2014 : Dairy Australia : Changing our image – it is what we make it”
  • 2013: United States of America: Refuel with Chocolate Milk to Win the Race for Milk Sales
  • 2012, the IMP Trophy was awarded to the Norwegian Dairy Council (NO) for their ‘No mornings without breakfast – no breakfast without milk’ campaign.
  • 2011, The IMP Trophy was awarded to Dairy Management Inc. DMI (US) for the Would You Like Milk With That? campaign.